What better way to understand and influence the future than to design for it?

That is precisely what an unprecedented one-thousand+ students and faculty, representing over 50 schools of architecture, are undertaking by participating in INNOVATION 2030 / COTE Top Ten for Students, a studio design and ideas competition that meaningfully addresses the current and projected impacts of climate change. This design studio experience is expected to prepare graduates with understanding of energy and emissions, resilience, and adaptation into planning and designing the built environment.

Given the longevity of the built environment, we must design for the future today. In 2017 we saw an unprecedented number of climate-related natural disasters worldwide including historic flooding in Puerto Rico, Florida, and Houston and catastrophic fires and mudslides in California and the Northwest. As climate change intensifies, such disasters will become increasingly common. The time has come for a urgent transformation in the world of architectural education and professional practice, and this year’s INNOVATION 2030 / COTE Top Ten for Students competitors are the first wave. The winning entries with the most compelling design responses to current and projected environmental conditions will be offered summer internships at leading sustainable design firms in the U.S. and Canada, bringing their unique expertise to one of the 31 top architecture firms partnering on this competition.

INNOVATION 2030 Participating Schools:

Academy of Art University
Appalachian State University
Auburn University
Ball State University
California Baptist University
California College of the Arts
California Polytechnic State University
California Polytechnic State University, Pomona
Carleton University
Carnegie Mellon University
Clemson University
Diablo Valley College
Florida Atlantic University
Georgia Institute of Technology
Harvard University
Illinois Institute of Technology
Iowa State University
Kennesaw State University
Lawrence Technological University
Louisiana State University
Marywood University
Montana State University
North Dakota State University
Prairie View A&M University
Pratt Institute
Rhode Island School of Design
Savannah College of Art and Design

Southern Illinois University
Temple University
Universidad Anahuac
Université Laval
University of Arkansas
University of British Columbia
University of Cincinnati
University of Colorado Denver
University of Florida
University of Idaho
University of Kentucky
University of Miami
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
University of New Mexico
University of North Carolina at Charlotte
University of Oklahoma
University of Oregon
University of Pennsylvania
University of Pittsburgh
University of Southern California
University of Tennessee-Knoxville
University of Texas at Austin
University of Texas at San Antonio
University of Washington
Virginia Tech
Washington University in St. Louis
Woodbury University

Participating Firms:

Arkin Tilt Architects
Atelier Ten
Brooks + Scarpa Architects
CO Architects
Cuningham Group Architects, Inc.
David Hertz Architects
DLR Group
HKS, Inc.
Kevin Daly Architects

Lake|Flato Architects
Leddy Maytum Stacy Architects
LMN Architects
Lord Aeck Sargent
LPA, Inc.
Manasc Issac Architects LTD
Payette Architects
Quinn Evans Architects
Siegel & Strain Architects
Skidmore, Owings, & Merrill
The Miller Hull Partnership
ZGF Architects, LLP

The top ten projects will be announced on April 22, 2018 and will be displayed at A’18 – the 2018 American Institute of Architects Conference on Architecture taking place June 21-23 in New York City. Additionally, a roundtable about INNOVATION 2030 will take place at the Design Futures Council 2018 Leadership Forum on Education and Talent, on June 20th in New York City (sessions to be published soon). Join us at A’18 and DFC to celebrate the ten winning entries and engage in discussions on the future of design education.

For more information visit: INNOVATION 2030 and ACSA 2017-2018 COTE Top Ten for Students

INNOVATION 2030 Supporters:

AIA Large Firms Roundtable
LPA, Inc.
Lake|Flato Architects
Atelier Ten
ZGF Architects, LLP
National Trust for Canada
Carleton University
APT International

INNOVATION 2030 Organizers:

Architecture 2030
American Institute of Architects (AIA)
Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA)

COTE Top Ten for Students Sponsor:

The National Council for Science and Environment honors Edward Mazria

On January 23, 2018, Edward Mazria, FAIA, was awarded the National Council for Science and the Environment’s prestigious 2018 NCSE Lifetime Achievement Award on Science, Service, and Leadership at their annual conference in Washington D.C.

This award is presented to distinguished individuals who have demonstrated a lifetime of accomplishments and leadership in service to society and advancing sustainability and environmental knowledge. Receiving the award this year were Edward Mazria of Architecture 2030 and Robert B. Semple Jr., Associate Editor of the New York Times.

Edward Mazria, FAIA
Founder and CEO, Architecture 2030

Robert Semple
The New York Times